SAFF Championship: Igor Stimac recalls Udanta, Jeakson but no place for Akash

Midfielders Udanta Singh and Jeakson Singh have been reviewed to Indian public football for the approaching SAFF Championship which starts off in the Maldives from October 1.

Public mentor Igor Stimac named 23 players for the title which India have won multiple times.

Both Udanta and Jeakson were absent in the crew for the two worldwide friendlies against Nepal played in Kathmandu early this month however Akash Mishra who played the first was dropped. India won the second cordial 1-0 while the first was a one-all drawn match.

The last of the five-country SAFF title is scheduled for October 16.

The players and the care staff will gather in Bengaluru on Monday and will fly out to the Maldives on Tuesday. Stimac, and different individuals from the specialized staff will join the crew straightforwardly in Maldives around the same time.

Other than India – Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka and hosts Maldives are different groups in the competition. Each group plays each other once with the best two groups meeting all requirements for the last.

“We are altogether anticipating the SAFF Championship as the main football country in this piece of Asia. These 4-5 games are incredibly urgent for us as we will not have some other shot at getting together before the beginning of third round AFC Asian Cup qualifiers next season. So these matches should assist us with working on a couple of focuses in our game,” Stimac told

India have won the SAFF Championship (once SAARC Cup) multiple times – 1993 in Lahore, 1997 in Kathmandu, 1999 in Margao, 2005 in Karachi, 2009 (U23 crew) in Dhaka, 2011 in New Delhi), 2015-16 in Thiruvananthapuram.

India start their mission against Bangladesh on October 4.


October 4: Bangladesh versus India (IST 4.30pm).

October 7: India versus Sri Lanka (IST 4.30pm).

October 10: Nepal versus India (IST 8.30pm).

October 13: India versus Maldives (IST 8.30pm).


GOALKEEPERS: Gurpreet Singh, Amrinder Singh, Vishal Kaith.

Safeguards: Pritam Kotal, Seriton Fernandes, Chinglensana Singh, Rahul Bheke, Subhasish Bose, Mandar Rao Dessai.

MIDFIELDERS: Udanta Singh, Brandon Fernandes, Lalengmawia, Anirudh Thapa, Sahal Abdul Samad, Jeakson Singh, Glan Martins, Suresh Singh, Liston Colaco, Yasir Mohammad.

    error: Content is protected !!